`


HyperFACETS Project Executive
 

Paul Ullrich (Principal Investigator)

University of California, Davis

Project Role

Tasks: Storylines (lead), Multi-Scale Processes, Software Support
Storylines: The 1960s Northeastern U.S. Drought

Contact

Email: paullrich@ucdavis.edu   |   Phone: (530) 400-9817   |   Webpage: http://climate.ucdavis.edu/



 
 

William Gutowski

Iowa State University

Project Role

Tasks: Multi-sector Interactions (lead), Multi-Sector Interactions, Disentangling Forcing and Response

Contact

Email: gutowski@iastate.edu   |   Webpage: https://ge-at.iastate.edu/directory/william-gutowski/



 
 

Andrew Jones

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Project Role

Tasks: Stakeholder Engagement (lead), Storylines, Regional Impacts

Contact

Email: adjones@lbl.gov   |   Webpage: http://eesa.lbl.gov/profiles/andrew-d-jones/



 
 

Lai-Yung (Ruby) Leung

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Project Role

Tasks: Metrics and Processes (lead), Disentangling Forcing and Response, Regional Impacts
Storylines: Hydroclimatic Priming of the 2018 California Wildfires, Repeated Passages of MCSs over the Southern Great Plains

Contact

Email: Ruby.Leung@pnnl.gov   |   Webpage: http://www.pnnl.gov/atmospheric/staff/staff_info.asp?staff_num=5661



 
 

Linda Mearns

National Center for Atmospheric Research

Project Role

Tasks: Differential Credibility Analysis (lead), Effects of Land-Use Land-Cover Change

Contact

Email: lindam@ucar.edu   |   Webpage: https://staff.ucar.edu/users/lindam



 
 

Sara Pryor

Cornell University

Project Role

Tasks: Wind Power, Extreme Winds, Differential Credibility Analysis, Disentangling Forcing and Response, Regional Impacts
Storylines: Wind Storms in the U.S. Northeast

Contact

Email: sp2279@cornell.edu   |   Webpage: http://www.geo.cornell.edu/eas/PeoplePlaces/Faculty/spryor/

HyperFACETS Project Management
 

Rebecca Barthelmie

Cornell University

Project Role

Tasks: Wind Power, Wind Extremes

Contact

Email: rb737@cornell.edu   |   Webpage: https://www.engineering.cornell.edu/faculty-directory/rebecca-j-barthelmie



 
 

Melissa Bukovsky

National Center for Atmospheric Research

Project Role

Tasks: Differential Credibility Analysis, Land-Use Land-Cover Change, Precipitating Features

Contact

Email: bukovsky@ucar.edu   |   Webpage: https://staff.ucar.edu/users/bukovsky



 
 

William Collins

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Project Role

Tasks: Atmospheric Drivers of Mountainous Hydroclimate

Contact

Email: wdcollins@lbl.gov   |   Webpage: https://eesa.lbl.gov/profiles/william-collins/



 
 

Zhe Feng

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Project Role

Tasks: Mesoscale Convective Systems (MCSs), Precipitating Features, Extreme Winds
Storylines: Repeated Passages of MCSs over the Southern Great Plains

Contact

Email: Zhe.Feng@pnnl.gov   |   Webpage: https://www.pnnl.gov/science/staff/staff_info.asp?staff_num=7783



 
 

Philip Gassman

Iowa State University

Project Role

Tasks: Hydrologic Modeling (SWAT)

Contact

Email: pwgassma@iastate.edu   |   Webpage: https://www.card.iastate.edu/people/profile/?n=philip-w-gassman



 
 

Richard Grotjahn

University of California, Davis

Project Role

Tasks: Multi-scale Metrics, Precipitating Features

Contact

Email: grotjahn@ucdavis.edu   |   Webpage: http://grotjahn.ucdavis.edu/



 
 

Alex Hall

University of California, Los Angeles

Project Role

Tasks: Atmospheric Rivers, Snowpack
Storylines: Sequential Atmospheric River Events in California (The Great Flood)

Contact

Email: alexhall@atmos.ucla.edu   |   Webpage: http://research.atmos.ucla.edu/csrl/



 
 

Rachel McCrary

National Center for Atmospheric Research

Project Role

Tasks: Snowpack, Rain-on-Snow, Differential Credibility Analysis

Contact

Email: rmccrary@ucar.edu   |   Webpage: https://staff.ucar.edu/users/rmccrary



 
 

Seth McGinnis

National Center for Atmospheric Research

Project Role

Tasks: Metric Development and Software

Contact

Email: mcginnis@ucar.edu   |   Webpage: https://staff.ucar.edu/users/mcginnis



 
 

Yun Qian

Earth Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Research Focus

Wildfire Drivers, Urbanization Effects

Contact

Email: Yun.Qian@pnnl.gov   |   Webpage: https://www.pnnl.gov/science/staff/staff_info.asp?staff_num=5660



 
 

Kevin Reed

Stony Brook University

Project Role

Tasks: Precipitating Features, Coastal Storms
Storylines: Hurricane Irma

Contact

Email: kevin.a.reed@stonybrook.edu   |   Webpage: http://you.stonybrook.edu/kareed/



 
 

Bruce Riordan

Climate Readiness Institute

Project Role

Tasks: Stakeholder Engagement and Outreach

Contact

Email: bruce@criberkeley.org



 
 

Koichi Sakaguchi

Pacific Northwest National Laboratories

Project Role

Precipitation, Metrics, Disentangling Forcing and Response

Contact

Email: koichi.sakaguchi@pnnl.gov   |   Webpage: https://www.pnnl.gov/atmospheric/staff/staff_info.asp?staff_num=8011



 
 

Chaopeng Shen

Pennsylvania State University

Project Role

Tasks: Hydrologic Modeling (CLM-PAWS, deep learning neural networks)

Contact

Email: cshen@engr.psu.edu   |   Webpage: http://water.engr.psu.edu/shen/



 
 

Shih-Yu (Simon) Wang

Utah State University

Project Role

Tasks: Precipitating Features, Mesoscale Convective Systems

Contact

Email: simon.wang@usu.edu   |   Webpage: https://sites.google.com/view/usu-climate-simon-wang/home



 
 

David Yates

National Center for Atmospheric Research

Project Role

Tasks: Water Demand

Contact

Email: yates@ucar.edu   |   Webpage: https://staff.ucar.edu/users/yates



 
 

Colin Zarzycki

Pennsylvania State University

Project Role

Tasks: Precipitating Features, Coastal Storms, Snowpack
Storylines: Rain-on-Snow Flooding in the Susquehanna

Contact

Email: czarzycki@psu.edu   |   Webpage: http://www.colinzarzycki.com/

HyperFACETS Participants and Researchers
 

Xiaodong Chen

Postdoctoral Researcher, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Research Focus

Hydrologic modeling (ELM-MOSART), atmospheric rivers

Contact

Email: xiaodong.chen@pnnl.gov   |   Webpage: http://www.xiaodongchen.com/



 
 

Lu Dong

Postdoctoral Researcher, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Research Focus

Atmospheric rivers, precipitation, wildfires

Contact

Email: lu.dong@pnnl.gov   |   Webpage: https://www.pnnl.gov/science/staff/staff_info.asp?staff_num=9345



 
 

Brandon Fisel

Postdoctoral Researcher, Iowa State University

Research Focus

Regional climate modeling, precipitation, extreme events, global change

Contact

Email: bjfisel@iastate.edu



 
 

Naomi Goldenson

Postdoctoral Researcher, University of California, Los Angeles

Research Focus

Global climate, atmospheric rivers, interannual variability of snowpack, uncertainty quantification.

Contact

Email: ngoldenson@ioes.ucla.edu   |   Webpage: http://naomigoldenson.com/



 
 

Kripa Jagganathan

Postdoctoral Researcher, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Research Focus

Climate change adaptation, the role of climate science in adaptation planning, and improving the usability of climate information for decision-makers.

Contact

Email: kripajagan@berkeley.edu



 
 

Binod Pokharel

Postdoctoral Researcher, Utah State University

Research Focus

Large-scale drivers of mesoscale convective systems

Contact

Email: binod.pokharel@usu.edu



 
 

Alan Rhoades

Postdoctoral Researcher, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Research Focus

Global and regional climate modeling, variable-resolution climate modeling, western USA hydroclimatology, and climate change in mountainous regions.

Contact

Email: arhoades@lbl.gov   |   Webpage: http://www.alanrhoades.com



 
 

Abhishekh Srivastava

Postdoctoral Researcher, University of California, Davis

Research Focus

Precipitation character and extremes, climate change, decadal predictability, advanced multivariate statistics, extreme statistics.

Contact

Email: asrivas@ucdavis.edu



 
 

Wen-Ping Tsai

Postdoctoral Researcher, Pennsylvania State University

Research Focus

Artificial neural networks, water resources management, optimization algorithm, climate change carrying into the multiscale hydrology and process.

Contact

Email: wxt42@psu.edu

Funded by